Data Science Seminar Series

Transforming Science in the 21st Century: NSF's Vision for a National Cyberinfrastructure Ecosystem



Manish Parashar, Ph.D.

Director, Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure (OAC) National Science Foundation

ጼ

Distinguished Professor Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey

Date: Wednesday, October 28th, 2020

Time: 4:00 PM – 5:00 PM EDT **Location**: Zoom Virtual Room

Web Link: https://njit-institute-for-data-science.eventbrite.com

Twenty-first century science and engineering (S&E) research is being transformed by the increasing availability and scales of computation and data and the national cyberinfrastructure (CI) ecosystem has become a key catalyst for discovery and innovation. NSF's Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure (OAC) supports the broad availability and innovative use of a CI ecosystem that is critical to the advancement of all areas of science and engineering research and education and its investments have consistently enabled new innovations and discoveries. Recent years have witnessed dramatic changes in the number and nature of applications using NSF-funded resources as well as their resource demand. NSF/OAC has responded to this dramatically changing application and technology landscapes, and has articulated a vision for an agile, integrated, robust, trustworthy and sustainable CI ecosystem that can drive new thinking and enable transformative discoveries. In this talk, I will present an overview of NSF's vision for a national cyberinfrastructure ecosystem as well as its recent programs and investments in support of this vision.

Manish Parashar is Office Director of the Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure at NSF. He joins NSF from Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, where he is currently a Distinguished Professor and the founding Director of the Rutgers Discovery Informatics Institute. His research interests are in the broad areas of Parallel and Distributed Computing and Computational and Data-Enabled Science and Engineering. Dr. Parashar is Fellow of AAAS, Fellow of IEEE/IEEE Computer Society and ACM Distinguished Scientist.